RSS

A Unique Christmas

25 Dec

 

2011-12-23 16.44.05

 

 

 

 

Caleb,

     This has been one of the most unique Christmas’ I have ever in my life have had.  It has been one filled with numerous emotions.  Ranging anywhere from extremely happy, to sad.  From being extremely angry and impatient to kind hearted and loving.  Tears were shed and laughter was heard.  There were feelings of togetherness as we celebrated with our family.  Then there were feelings of great loneliness.  Yet, this year was really calm and organized.  That is very strange for this time of the year.  There was just a peace in the air that was like no other.  I can honestly say that despite the circumstances this was the best Christmas I have ever had in my life. 

     I really feel the presence of the Lord on this day bubby.  It is almost as if he has reached his hand down from heaven and he is gently guiding us along.  There is a story that leads up to these calm and docile feelings that I have.  It all started several days ago when you came to visit me in my dream.  You know the one where I was lying in bed half awake, half asleep.  Suddenly I seen a really bright light come over my eyelids.  It seemed as if it was the morning sun shining in my face.  I remember very vividly, I was in a really bright room.  I sat up and looked around, I noticed a window right behind me.  There was bright sunshine radiating through.  As my eyes came into focus, I saw you looking in the window at me.  You had the biggest smile on your face.  We connected in that dream on a level that I have never connected with you before.  I knew right then and there that you were okay.  I felt a great peace come over me.  It was such a great experience I had to tell mommy.  Later on that day we received a great blessing from the Lord.  I cannot even begin to tell you or even explain the great work the Lord is doing through me. 

     As today grew closer and closer I did not have the feelings of missing you, I knew that you were right here with me.  You are in my heart.  There is a place there for you that you can call home always and forever.  I will hide you there and with the power of God’s love I will go on in this world changing lives one at a time.  Before I close this letter to you, I want to share a poem with you that expresses my love and devotion to God, you, our family and everybody else in this world who needs a shoulder to lean on.

 

Christmas time has come and passed,

it seems as if another year is gone away so fast.

Before you know it, it will be time to do it all over again,

then another new year will begin.

However there is one thing that will never change,

spending each new year without you and how it feels so strange.

I know that you will always be there in my heart,

nothing in this world will ever break those feelings apart.

What is it that helps me get through all of this you ask,

it is all about God and his great task.

A heavenly mission that was set out for me from day I was born,

one I will carry on with even after being broken, battered and torn.

You see in order for you to see God through me,

I have had to lose things so dear and close to me.

But if that means that you will be in heaven with me someday,

I will lose everything for you just to show you the way.

                             ….Merry Christmas….Jeffrey

     Well that is it bubby, I really hope that you have had an awesome Christmas.  I know that I have.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake,

Daddy

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “A Unique Christmas

  1. Holly Miskell

    December 25, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    I really like that poem Jeffrey. It is so true for our family. I love you and just wanted to thank you for being there for me tonight.

     
  2. Jeffrey Miskell

    December 25, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Thank you sweetheart. Thank you for opening your heart to me. You really made me feel as if I was needed in your life.

     
  3. Kate Kresse

    December 25, 2011 at 11:20 pm

    Jeffrey…thank you so much for sharing with all of us. I am so happy that Caleb came and visited you. My daughter Erin did that for me a few months after she died. It is such a gift. Your letters, your blog and your faith light the world. I am giving you the Candle Lighter Award. Here is the link with the information about the award and so you can put the icon on your blog. God bless you and your family. http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/the-candle-lighter-award/

     
    • Jeffrey Miskell

      December 25, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      Kate thank you for the appreciation of my blog. I am so very thankful that it has touched your heart. Please do come again I really love having you here.

       
      • Kate Kresse

        December 27, 2011 at 12:14 am

        I will Jeffrey. You, your wife and family are in my prayers. My late daughter Erin is taking Caleb under her sweet wing. We are linked by faith, grief, and healing. Blessings to you.

         
  4. Debbie

    December 26, 2011 at 4:51 am

    Jeffery, you and your family have been frequently in my prayers this past week. I’m so grateful your Christmas was joyful and that Caleb and Jesus filled your heart.
    Debbie

     
  5. lambskinny

    January 5, 2012 at 4:29 am

    Thanks Jeffrey for sharing your Christmas with us. And for showing us again that God is so good. May His blessings continue to follow you and yours. Carley

     
  6. my rays of light

    January 12, 2012 at 2:21 am

    Jeffrey I nominated you for the candle lighter award…I see you already have one…that is understandable….

    http://myraysoflight.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/in-a-world-of-darkness-light-a-candle/

    I find your letters to Caleb to be so touching. I lost my sister…my best friend in 2011 also…I don;t know if I could write her letters…it would be very hard for me, but I do write about her from time to time.

    Often the only peace I have is knowing that I really didn’t lose her…she is home. I only miss her presence in my daily life. Thank you for your honest loving letters…Caleb was definitely an angel on earth

    Peace and Blessings to you

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

