RSS

Memory Lane

19 May

Hey bubby it is daddy again.  Today did turn out to be a pretty good day.  Mommy was just talking to me.  She said that she felt you standing behind her in the bedroom last night.  You should not scare your mother like that.  She had a hard time sleeping last night because of it.  You do not need to be so scared of us.  You are more than welcome to come and get into bed with us.  It is okay you will not get into trouble.  In fact if you want to, you can come up here right between us.  We  will keep you nice and safe.  What was that you said?…….. yes son, I know that God is taking good care of you.  I just miss you a whole bunch.

I remember all of the cool stuff that we used to do together.  I have a hard time setting out on the back steps.  Every time I look at the back yard I picture you running around playing.  I picture you playing with the neighbors chickens.  I picture you climbing up onto the swing set and saying, ” I am ready daddy!”  Then how I would come over and push you on the swing.  Now when I look at the backyard it seems so empty.  Like there is a big hole ripped in it.  I seems so gloomy, even on a sunny day.

I really do not know how long it will take for your mother and I to be happy again, but I do know that it will be bumpy.  So make sure you and God are on standby to pick us up when we fall.  I am sure it will happen many times.  We love and miss you a whole lot bubby.  Make sure that you listen to God.  I gave him permission to whip your butt.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake,

Daddy

To my readers

Good night everybody.  Thank you for listening to me.  I love you all.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Memory Lane

  1. Heather

    May 19, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    I love your little letters to Caleb. But they make me wanna cry every time I read them. You guys super strong. I for sure would be falling apart. I really wish I would have had the chance to get to find out just how amazing Caleb was. I think about him every single day.

     
  2. Melissa

    May 20, 2011 at 7:23 am

    Hey Jeff and Holly I read your letters to Caleb everytime you post a new one; they are so nice to read to see how you all had your special moments with such a sweet little boy. I hope things are going well for the both of you and we are here if you need anything and we are still praying for you and your family

     
  3. Pingback: A Father's Love

Leave a Reply

 
