RSS

Save Me a Spot

05 Jun

Good morning Caleb,   it is daddy again.  We just got back from picking up your brother.  I can tell you for the first time in a long time, I had a very quiet ride.  I am so used to you in the backseat causing some kind of commotion.  I am setting here right now getting ready to go to church.  I figure that if I am going to see you when I die I really need to get my life right with God so that he will let me in those gates.  I would hate to be looking at you from the flames of hell.  The minute that you were born I knew that I was going to spend the rest of my life caring for you, that is what I intend to do.  From this point on in my life I will do as much as I can to honor God.  Hey wait a minute…. maybe since you and God are homies now you can use some of your pull to make sure that my spot in heaven is right beside you.  What do you think?  Could you do that for Daddy?  That would be really cool.  

I have a lot of unfinished business to take care of here on Earth before that happens though, so will you promise to wait for me.  Maybe even when I am laying there in my death-bed you could be there, with God giving me comfort, welcoming me home.  Like he did for you.  Well there are a few things that I have to tend to son.  I will most definitely be back here again.  

I love you like a fat kid loves cake, 

Daddy

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Save Me a Spot

  1. sara miskell

    June 5, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    i read you wrote and i belive in every word u say u always have a good person, i feel the way u do just caleb papa will write there with him so leave me a place too.i want to see your smiling face when u see me and give a great be hug i love u caleb very much i miss u each and every day. there is not day i go without thinking about u and how u are doing love u bunches papa sara.

     

Leave a Reply

 
