RSS

A Light from Heaven

10 Jul

Good afternoon Caleb,

Hi there chunky monkey.  It is your daddy again.  This time it is late in the day though.  I just now finally got the chance to set down and write to you.  Today has been pretty good.  We went to church this morning and it was very enlightening.  Pastor Paul talked about us serving a God of creation.  It was more like a science lecture.  It was more about molecules and chromosomes then it was about God.  The whole point of it was to show how awesome God’s creation is (The Earth.)  I enjoyed it though.

Mommy and I will be getting married in less than a week.  We talked to Pastor Paul today, he is the one that is going to do the ceremony.  We have to take some counseling classes before he marries us though.  So on Tuesday night we have to meet at the church to do that.  Under normal circumstances the counseling takes place over three sessions.  However, since he had such a short notice.  He is going to cram everything into an hour and a half session.  God bless him for doing that.  Speaking of Pastor Paul I would like to talk a little about him. For the longest time he has been asking me to come and be apart of the praise and worship band.  I kept giving him excuse after excuse and never went to his church.  Your mommy and I went one Sunday with you.  If I am correct a lady that still goes there watched you in the nursery that day.  That was the last time that we went for a whole year.  Paul never gave up on us though, he continued to try to get us into the church.  

The day finally came that you took your walk with God.  They rushed you to the local hospital here in town.  Finally it was determined that were to be transported to a better hospital a few miles down the road.  After what seemed like the longest car ride in the world, we arrived at the hospital.  Even though we had family close by with us, I can still remember feeling empty that night.  We walked into the front doors of the ER.  I remember feeling very comforted and warm when I saw Pastor Paul setting there waiting for us.  “How did he know?”  I knew right then and there God had been trying to talk to me through him all this time.  

That is where I made the decision to become a man of God.  There are some things that I still need to work on, but I know that with time these things will get better.  Well I  am going to go ahead and close this letter for now because I have some other things that I would like to do.  It sure was wonderful talking to you.  I miss you so very much son.  But our day is coming, it is coming.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake,

Daddy

To my readers

Is there anyone that you can think of that has touched your life in this manner?  If so I would love to hear about it.  The comment box is below, so please feel free to tell me your story.  I would love to hear about it.  Like always , thank you so very much for taking the time to read this.  For that reason alone, I love you….Jeffrey

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
