RSS

The Short and Narrow Road

17 Jul

Good morning Caleb, 

 

Did you have a good time yesterday?  I know that I sure did.  On a different note.  I felt you in our room last night.  But I do not recall you lying down on the bed with us.  It was almost as if you came in, looked at us, smiled and turned away.  Needless to say, but I knew you were there.  When you do things like that it sends a very reassuring feeling over me that says, “I am here with you daddy.”  Words cannot express how awesome it is to have my very own angel.  I love you son.  

 

Your mother and I came before God yesterday in marriage.  I really have no clue as to where God is leading us, but all I can say is let His will be done.  He has great control over our lives and we will spend the rest of our lives following where He leads us.  This is just another part in His wonderful plan for me.  Why don’t you do me a big favor son.  Go run up to him right now and give him a really big HUG!  Will you do that for me? 

 

When I was 10 years old, I went to this church in a small town not to far from here.  I was there that I received the Lord as my savior.  Now that I look back at the last 20 years I realize that it was there that I decided to get off of the wide road and take the path less traveled.  Ever since then my life has been filled with a flood of different experiences.  With loss being the most prominent.  It seems as if that is what I am here on this Earth for.  Unfortunately, I have become very good in dealing with loss.  I think that your death son was very empowering.  It made me realize how awesome your mother is.  It gave to me a strength that not very many people have.  I will use this gift that was given to me to raise a strong family in God’s name.  Thank you son, that one thing alone makes me love you even more than I already do.

 

Today I take a different stance in life.  I will continue on this rocky path that I have chosen for myself.  In Jesus name, let His will be done.  I am not afraid either.  I see you son standing at the end of this road waiting for me.  When the day finally does come and I reach you.  I will bend down and pick you up and give to you the biggest hug that I have ever given to anyone.  Until then son, I have a family to raise and who knows what else.  I will see you when my job is done.  I hope that you have an awesome day in heaven today.  We are all thinking about you.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake,

Daddy

 

Related articles

 


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 17, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
