RSS

Stuck In A Rut

26 Jul

 

Good morning Caleb, 

You sure do like to play peek-a-boo don’t you?  That was your favorite thing to do at bedtime.  I would drape the covers down over you. They would completely cover you up.  I would take turns uncovering your face and feet.  “peeeeekaaaaaaaboo!”  You loved it.  Every once in a while I would throw an occasional tickle in there.  We played the game for a few minutes.  Then it was time for you to hit the sack.  Apparently you like to play this game in spirit as well because now you play it with me.  

The last couple of days have been really rough on me.  It is almost time for bubby to go back home.  I am going to really miss him, then I will be without both of my boys.  It is going to be a really sad day for daddy when the time finally comes for him to leave.  It seems as if this is all I can think about.  Once again I going to have to muster up the strength to experience loss.  It will be ok though.  I am quite sure that I will be able to pull through it alright.  After all I will still have mommy and sissy.

I must be in a rut because I have been really uptight these past couple of days.  Bubby will you and God please help me to pull out of this.  I remember when you first passed people always talked about how there were going to be some really tough times.  This must be one of them, because I cannot seem to shake my blues away.  I don’t know.  I miss you bubby.  Well I need to get up and go to work, which by the way is a place I cannot stand.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake, 

Daddy

To my readers

Any suggestions?  I need your help this time.


 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Stuck In A Rut

  1. Anita

    July 26, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Jeffrey-You are doing a great job. I am very proud of you. You will have some rough times, that is to be expected. But with your faith and strength you’ll get through it. Just keep talking to God, especially in your darkest times, Let him be you light.

     
    • jmisk70

      July 26, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      Thank you Anita. It is really nice to hear those kind of words. I will most definitely be taking that advice from you.

       
  2. scentilla

    July 27, 2011 at 6:09 am

    Hello, I’ve been following your blog because I get a “lift” when I read them. I cried when I read your post about the time the salesman asked about Caleb’s picture. I guess I was touched by your eagerness to share your feelings so openly with others. Now after reading this blog, I just want to ask – you say your other son is going home? Are you losing another child?

     
    • jmisk70

      July 27, 2011 at 6:31 am

      First of all I would like to thank you for stopping by A Father’s Love. I am really happy to have you here. The other son is just over for the summer. We will see him again around Christmas time. When you say you get a “lift” that is awesome. If you know anybody else that needs a lift, send them over, we would love to have them here. Now I have a question to you. Did you recently lose a loved one?

       
      • scentilla

        July 27, 2011 at 9:11 pm

        I’m glad your other son is ok. And thank you. Yes, I have lost loved ones – relatives and beloved pets. I have a sister and brother who died before I was born – my parents and sister are the ones who have borne the pain. Loss is not my issue – I am used to it and God always shows the way to healing.
        I visit your site because I admire your ability to be so open and candid about your feelings – something I am trying to learn. 🙂 So you see, you’re teaching people several things.
        I hope you don’t mind this, but this morning I was going to bookmark your site so I googled “A Father’s Love Caleb” this site was listed first, then your sites followed. I thought you’d find this interesting: http://calebsjourneyfromgod.blogspot.com/2009/09/fathers-love.html

        Thank you and God bless.

         
      • jmisk70

        July 28, 2011 at 5:53 am

        You are so very welcome. You have such sweet words. The power of God is flowing through me when I write these letters. So I give all of the credit to Him. I am just the vessel. I am very thankful to have helped you and I pray that I continue to help you and teach you.

         

Leave a Reply

 
