RSS

A True Blessing

30 Jul

Good morning Caleb, 

Today is going to be a good day, I can just feel it in my blood.  I have energy, my body feels good and I am ready to get up and take this day on.  There is a lot of work that has to be done around so as soon as I finish this letter to you, I am going to get busy.  I think that the first thing I am going to do is mow the yard.  Gotta get that finished before the day gets hot.  I will go from there.  Did you sleep well last night?  To me it just felt good to sleep in a little bit.  This heat has sure wore me down.  By the time the week is up, I am so tired I have no energy for anything else.  But today is different.  I feel alive!  I am ready to do this.  I do not get many moments like this so I am going to take advantage of it.

I would like to take the time to talk with you about God bubby.  Is that ok with you?….I just need to express to someone how much I love Him.  So I figured the best person I could talk to is my little angel.  I have come to realize many things since you passed.  God has opened my eyes to those things.  I now have a deeper love for you mother.  I respect her to the max.  We have weathered many tough times together.  When those times do come.  I grab the reigns and lead the way through the fire.  When all the smoke is cleared she is standing right there beside me.  I truly see her as a blessing from God.  For many years I tried to find a copilot in life’s journey.  I never could find anybody to fit that bill.  Until I met your mother.  That seat beside me in life was made for her.  Thank you God.

One thing I can say about God.  He has always been there for me when I needed him.  Especially during the darkest times of my life.  There were times that I strayed away from him and tried to venture out on my own.  I will tell you there were times that were really scary.  God has always been there waiting for me with arms wide open.  It makes him so happy when I come back home.  I am not leaving this time.  I need God.  I have been told by so many people in my life that I need to be the leader of my family.  I thought I was being a leader, turns out I was leading my family in the wrong direction.  When you went with God, I turned around on the spot.  I am really glad that I did that.  Things do not seem so dark anymore.  I can only imagine what you see right now.  All I have to say about that is, wow!  It must be amazing.  

 Before I end this letter to you bubby, I want to share with you a poem.  I got it from that little handout that you get from the funeral home.  You know the one where it tells you who died, when they were born, when they died.  Do you know what I am talking about now.  Sorry for the rough explanation.  Anyhow here it is:

A Baby’s Secret

I’m just a little person;  And I didn’t quite make it there;  I went straight to be with Jesus And I’m waiting for you there.

Don’t you fret about me, Mommy,  I’m of all God’s lambs most blest;  I’d have loved to stayed there with you, But Our Shepard know’s what’s best.

Many dwelling here where I live Waited years to enter in;  Struggled through a world of sorrow And their lives were marred with sin.

So sweet Mommy don’t you sorrow, Chase the gloom and wipe the tears;  I went straight to Jesus’s bosom May your heartache disappear.

Daddy gave me something for you, it’s our secret Mommy dear; Pressed it tight against my forehead, Whispered in my tiny ear.

I’ll be waiting for you Mommy-You and Daddy, all the rest.  I’ll be with you then forever And I’ll give you Daddy’s Kiss.

     Well that is it for today.  I am going to go ahead and get this day going.  I will talk to you later on my little angel.  We all love you and miss you.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake, 

Daddy

Related articles


 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “A True Blessing

  1. LeRoy Dean

    July 30, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Jeffrey, you have an amazing gift from God in writing these letters to Caleb.

     
    • Jeffrey Miskell

      July 30, 2011 at 11:31 am

      Thank you sir. You have probably been told a million times. But you have the same gift. You are the type of person that inspires me.

       

Leave a Reply

 
