RSS

A Tough Day

24 Aug

Good morning Caleb, 

 I said to myself this morning that I was going to take a break from writing, but I cannot seem to do it.  I am driven to set here and write to you every day.  I can say that it does offer me some peace of mind once I finally do so.  Why is that?  The thought of it perplexes me.  Anyhow you have me here so what shall we talk about today.  I know.  On Monday night sissy was at soccer practice and she received her first bloody nose.  The kids were racing from one side of the field to the other.  Sissy was in the lead, once she turned around to go the other way.  BOOM!  She ran into the kid that was behind her.  Even though it was not a good thing for her, I believe that it toughened her up a little.  I walked out on to the field and got her.  We decided to take a walk back to the van to “shake it off.”  Finally I managed to get her to give it another shot.  We raced all the way back to the soccer field so that she would be pumped up to play again.  Once she got back out on the field the coach was kicking the ball to another kid.  Sissy timed it just right.  BOOM!  The soccer ball hit her in the face.  Needless to say we left after that.  We took sissy to get her some ice cream for doing such a good job.  She had a tough day, she deserved it.

 I remember the first time that sissy played soccer, you were just a little baby.  We took you out on the field with us, you were strapped into your stroller.  Turns out that was not a good idea because every time we went you were not having the whole “strapped in the stroller” idea.  You wanted to run around.  So I would take you out and we would play.  I had to stay close by because you would try to go out on the field and play soccer with the bigger kids.  You never did want to be a baby.  Once you learned how to walk, you were a big kid.  You wanted to do big kid stuff.  I loved that about you.  It makes me wonder what kind of big kid stuff you are doing in heaven.  I bet you are God’s little helper, standing beside him waiting for the next big kid thing to do.  Just remember son, that no matter what you are doing, you must do it the best that you can ok.  I am going to close this letter for now and I will talk to you later ok.  Have an awesome day in heaven and behave yourself.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake,

Daddy

To my readers

Thank you for taking the time to stop by here and spend time with Caleb and I.  I hope that I touched your heart in a way that will allow you to be at peace.  Have an awesome day!


 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “A Tough Day

  1. LeRoy Dean

    August 24, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Heart-felt, God-led, Inspiring. You are helping others, more than you realize.

     
  2. Melismatic Writer

    August 24, 2011 at 11:37 am

    “I am driven to set here and write to you every day. I can say that it does offer me some peace of mind once I finally do so. Why is that?”

    Mr. Dean is right. It’s because you are helping people. I posted your letter to Caleb about grief on my facebook page and 3 people “liked” it in less than an hour. One of those who read it was a lady friend from South Africa who lost her daughter in a car crash many years ago.

     
    • Jeffrey Miskell

      August 24, 2011 at 11:41 am

      That is wonderful news. To me it only seems as if I am just reaching a small handful of people. Even if that is so, it really does show that the true power of God is working through me to help others. All glory be to God.

       

Leave a Reply

 
