RSS

I See Green Grass

13 Sep

 

 

Hello!…(silence)  Hello!…(silence)  Hello!…(shuffling sound)  Daddy!  

 

     There’s my big boy!  Come here son.  I missed you so much!  I do apologize for having been gone for so long.  Daddy has been extremely busy over the past week.  I chose to take a break from writing to you.  Please do not think that I have forgotten about you.  You know better than that.  Things have been really tight around here and daddy is doing his best to keep things floating.  Times are really tough right now, but I know that our family will weather this storm.  Just like the many other storms we have weathered, this one is no different.

 

Something happened to me the other day when I was in the graveyard writing a letter to you.  At first things started out really nice and peaceful.  That soon gave way to a feeling that I have never felt before in my life.  It was a sudden feeling of dread and doom.  It made me so uncomfortable that I had to get up and leave.  I actually finished writing to you back at the house.  What was that?  It did have a profound effect on me though.  It was almost as if I suddenly realized how real this whole situation was.  Call it a big SLAP! in the face.  It knocked me to pieces, in fact I am still picking them up.  You know bubby, I keep hearing that in the end all that will remain is the warm happy memories of you. When the hell is that going to happen?  

 

I did receive some really good news the other day from the person that is soldiering the fight with your mother and I.  It seems as if there is finally some justice prevailing for your death.  That makes us very happy, it is almost as if a ton of bricks have dropped off of my back.  Even though there is many more bricks left, it sure does feel good to let those go.  It will be easier to push forward now.  So maybe there is some green grass on the other side.  Still pretty brown though.  Well bubby, I need to go and get my day started so I will talk to you later.  Now go and have a good day in heaven.

 

I love you like a fat kid loves cake, 

Daddy


 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “I See Green Grass

  1. LeRoy Dean

    September 13, 2011 at 8:48 am

    I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me (Philippians 4:13)

     
    • Jeffrey Miskell

      September 13, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Amen! This is scripture that I have held close to my heart for a great many years.

       
  2. Angela Bajzath

    September 13, 2011 at 9:37 am

    You continue to move me ever letter that you write. We all have our 9/11 in some way or another. You continue to fight yours and you should be so proud. Missed you at the family reunion. I hope everything else is going well for you.
    Love
    Angie

     
  3. mtsweat

    September 13, 2011 at 11:21 am

    Great to hear from you friend. Thanks for the wonderful words, God bless.

     
  4. mom

    September 13, 2011 at 11:41 am

    there will be a day in your life son that u will be able to push forward it just takes time i love u very very much just keep a smile on your and the good is watching over u each and every day

    love always your mom

     

Leave a Reply

 
