RSS

Another Soul in Heaven

29 Oct

Good morning Caleb, 

 Hey there big boy.  You know I sure do miss you.  Mommy and I were just talking about you yesterday.  How when we were trick or treating last year you did not want to sit in that God forsaken stroller.  But you know what, we did not feel like chasing you all over the place.  That is the beauty of strollers.  So what did we do to keep you calm?  We gave you your favorite.  Suckers!  We were trick or treating so  we had plenty of those.  

When we were at the funeral yesterday seeing Grandpa Jack, I could not help but seeing you there.  I was in my seat watching him in the casket and suddenly I was swept back to the day that it was you up there.  I started to cry.  I was grieving for the both of you.  Something strange happened though.  It was as if there was a calm presence over me, like you and Grandpa Jack were right behind me with your hands on my shoulder.  “Don’t be sad.”  I felt real comfort inside.  I was allowed to grieve, more important I actually knew what my grief entailed.  For the first time I actually felt real sympathy in my heart for the bereaved.

Jack was a good ole man, and he will always be in my heart.  You and God take care of him okay.  Welcome him to heaven, for he is home now.  Well that pretty much sums it up.  It feels really, really good to talk to you again.  I will always and forever love you.  Now go and have an awesome day in heaven you little squirt.  Be have yourself, or my size 10 1/2 will find it’s place.

I love you like a fat kid loves cake, 

Daddy

 

If you would like to support this blog please follow this link to find out how you can help.

https://memoriesofcaleb.wordpress.com/custom-apparel/.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2011 in Letters to Caleb

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Another Soul in Heaven

  1. LeRoy Dean

    October 29, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Very moving.

     

Leave a Reply

 
